Monthly Recap: January 2016

january 2016

One of my 2016 goals is writing posts regularly. I really want to write reviews for every book I read but I found myself too lazy (as always) and have some difficulties in finding words, moreover in English. I know this can be my practice to write in English but I still have a lack of vocabularies so the post sometimes can not express my feeling accurately. But yeah, the most reason is just the laziness. I mean, hey, google is just in front of me!

I attempt to be more and more casual reader this year. Meaning I want to read books slowly. As I said I want to do other hobbies. I’ve been engrossed with my new hobby last month so just can’t believe I finished 6 books (omg, Me? 6 books? In a month??). So here are my comments (please note, comments, not reviews) of them.

Hujan Bulan Juni: Novel – Sapardi Djoko Damono

Few months ago, when this novel just been published I read some comments that some people quite uncomfortable with Sapardi writing novel. Which I don’t understand why they said that. Have to admit that the story is not the mainstream one, not the story of man or woman cheat the partner, not the story of people living in metropolis with their hip lives, not the story that make your heart melt or want to head-desk, not a yaoi-yuri, not the story of an alpha male and beta girl, not that stupid cheese story. The prose is not as beautiful as the poems but that doesn’t mean this novel is not beautiful.

This is a story about love and faith (and cultures). Sarwono and Pingkan love each other. But some matters truly does matter.

“Bahwa kasih sayang beriman pada senyap.”

Bermain Bersama Tini #2

I bought this book months ago for the sake of childhood remembrance. The illustrations are absolutely beautiful, soo much beautiful. The stories are about Tini (Martine, in original version) and friends and their adventures. So so stories but yes, the big point is the drawings.

Anyhow, since the book has big drawings, I thought the readers should be kids age 5-8, but the translation language is quite uncommon for kids even it’s hard for me to understand. I’m not sure if it’s about the original language, French I suppose, so that challenging to translate or just me being stupid =)))

tini

pic source: here

“Oh, Pupi! Seandainya saja kau tahu! Aku tadi berada dalam buku bersama Lorinou si burung kecil. Buku memang luar biasa. Kalau kita bisa membaca, kita dapat melakukan perjalanan jauh yang menyenangkan, mendapatkan teman-teman baru, dan hidup kita penuh petualangan seru.”

Perempuan Patah Hati yang Kembali Menemukan Cinta Melalui Mimpi – Eka Kurniawan

I follow the hype. Eka is indeed a hype recently with his popular Man Tiger and Beauty is A Wound (both are not read yet) but I chose this book as my first Eka because of the title. Let’s say that I want to find love again through the dream :p

This is a compilation of Eka’s short stories. The story with the title itself is really about a woman who looks for her love because she dreamt about this certain man (#nothelping #iknow). She followed what happened on her dream and she finally… Ok, no spoiler. Gerimis yang Sederhana, La Cage aux Folles, and Pengantar Tidur Panjang are my other favourites.

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz – Frank Lynn Baum

Please read my review here. (Indonesian, sorry).

Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll

Second attempt of reading child classic literature. It was a quick read. The story is just enthralling and imaginative. I found comments that it has blahblahblah philosophy or something but please forgive my brain, I couldn’t find any. I just enjoyed it as (maybe) kids enjoy.

“I can’t explain myself, I’m afraid, Sir,” said Alice, “because I’m not myself, you see–being so many different sizes in a day is very confusing.”

Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella

Sophie Kinsella is my guilty pleasure. I don’t read the Shopaholic series since my friend said I shouldn’t read that because I would just flip the table. But I have read some of her chiclits. Finding Audrey is a YA, a story about a teenage girl with anxious disorder because of bullying at school. I didn’t get the bullying part, but I got so much in the family matters. Her mum, dad, older brother Frank (my fave!) and little brother Felix. Not to mention a crush named Linus who was very nice and kind and nice and kind and nice and sweet. I love how they interact with each other with memos (Gosh I love memos!). The almost ending part a little bit ruined the mood but overall, it’s 3.5.

“Life is all about climbing up, slipping down, and picking yourself up again. And it doesn’t matter if you slip down. As long as you’re kind of heading more or less upwards. That’s all you can hope for. More or less upwards.”

Those are books I read on January. I am still struggling with Takashi Hiraide’s The Guest Cat at the moment. I really want to finish soon. I have no TBR for this month. Let’s just see on next monthly recap.

My book haul is just comic books. The Guest Cat which I received last month is actually my online buying on November (but the bookstore despatched the book on December to a friend, and this a friend gave it to me on January, what a long way to go).

But I finally visited my cousin’s house.

And what’s the point of visiting your cousin’s house?

Hehehe…

So, few months ago I asked this cousin if I could posses some of his late father’s books. He said yes. So at the end of the month, I grabbed my first batch of these old babies. Welcome to your new home, darlings.

Untitled

 

 

One thought on “Monthly Recap: January 2016

Leave a Reply

