Master Post 2016 Japanese Literature Reading Challenge

こんにちは
明けましておめでとうございます!!2016に宜しくお願いします!

Hello, greetings from Casual Book Reader!

This is the last post in 2015. Hope many good things will be happened in our life. To end this year and start the next, let me present you master post of…

jlit

“2016 Japanese Literature Reading Challenge”

I know there are many bloggers out there conduct this challenge (although I myself never joined one). I have a huge fond of Japanese literature I don’t know why. I am collecting Tuttle Classics Japanese Literature edition (since those are the cheapest among other publishers’) and I am thinking to ask you to accompany me to read them.

The rules are just simple, please check below:

  1. Indonesian blogger living in Indonesia. I don’t mean to be racist but yeah you must be Indonesian to join this challenge. Your blog doesn’t have to be a book blog, any kind of blog is welcome.
  2. Put the button of this challenge on your blog sidebar/widget.
  3. Write a master post challenge and insert the link to google doc form below.
  4. Read books, I repeat, books (NO E-BOOKS) of any Japanese Literatures (which means the writer is a Japanese descent) and write the review on your blog. You can read classics or contemporary, in Indonesian, English, Japanese, or maybe other translations please suit your taste, but NO MANGA, NO GRAPHIC NOVELS. You may re-read the book but not repost the review. Your book review can be overlapped with other challenges and can be written in Indonesian or English (So if you can write Chinese or Spanish or any other languages I am sorry)
  5. Write a wrap-up post at the end of year. Link to submit will be provided later on December 31, 2016.
  6. Share your master post through any social medias you have and mention my twitter @casualreader4 to inform the shared link (just mention, you have no obligation to follow me).
  7. Challenge is open throughout the year, so you can join me anytime in 2016.

And yes, it’s also a Giveaway!!!

You need to collect the points as follow:

1 point for every 1 read and review book.

That’s it! Easy, yes?

But…

As I am somewhat you call an unfair person (or maybe this is fair?), you can get additional points with below requirements:

  • +3 points if you post Classic Japanese Literature
  • +5 points if you post Goodbye Tsugumi by Banana Yoshimoto / Sputnik Sweetheart by Haruki Murakami / A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
  • +10 points if you post Musashi / Taiko by Eiji Yoshikawa / Trilogy 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami (I count 1Q84 as only one book)

*evil grin*

2 winners who get the most points will get the prizes:

  • 1st winner will get book/voucher/cash IDR 150,000
  • 2nd winner will get book/voucher/cash IDR 100,000

Ask me any questions, join me and good luck!

頑張って下さい!!!

33 thoughts on “Master Post 2016 Japanese Literature Reading Challenge

    • Iya Tih, buttonnya yang gambar judulnya itu. Nggak mesti laporan tiap bikin review, cuma ditulis aja itu part of this challenge. Eh tapi kalo mau kasih tau ya boleh2 aja :D

      Like

  1. Talking about Japanese writers, sometimes I am confused on categorising them. Hanya Yanagihara, Kazuo Ishiguro, and Ruth Ozeki have Japanese names, but culturally they are not really Japanese. Their characters are also not Japanese. So I am quite confused whether put them as Japanese writers are not even though by blood, yes they are.

    Like

    • yes that’s also my concern but I decided to categorize them by blood. If you’re willing to join but don’t think the same way as I do, please you also may categorize them the way you like :)

      Like

      • Meh, I just realised I made a typo. I meant “as Japanese writers or not” not “are” :)) *you understand what i mean tho*

        Considering how uncommitted I am about reading, I need time to think before I join it, hahaha.

        Like

  2. Pingback: 2016 Reading and Blogging Plan | Bacaan B.Zee

  3. Pingback: [Master Post] 2016 Japanese Literature Reading Challenge | Melihat Kembali

  4. Pingback: 2016 Japanese Literature Reading Challenge | Ocean of Thoughts

  5. Pingback: [Master Post] 2016 Japanese Literature Reading Challenge | The Bookly Purple

  6. Hmm, I suck at readalongs and reading challenges. But this one is pretty forgiving as it lasts the whole year, so count me in :)

    No need to tally my points :) I’m just joining for fun. Besides, I won’t win the prizes anyway as I’ve been an unbelievable slow reader for more than a year :P

    I’ll work on the challenge masterpost. Man, I suck. Haven’t been blogging for so long.

    Like

  7. Pingback: [Master Post] 2016 Japanese Literature Reading Challenge | areaderofliterature

  8. Pingback: [Master Post] Femme Friday | areaderofliterature

  9. Pingback: January Book and Magazine Haul | areaderofliterature

  10. Wow, I’ve already read Murakami’s 1Q84, so I already got 10 points ahead right? :p
    Will definitely join this challenge, I’ve already bought several Murakami’s and Tuttle Classics editions of Kenzaburo Oe, Kobo Abe, and Jun’ichiro Tanizaki.

    Happy reading for us all!!

    Like

  11. Pingback: Japanese Literature Reading Challenge | Ghifari's Notebook

  12. Pingback: [Wrap-Up] 2016 Japanese Literature Reading Challenge |

Leave a Reply

