Book Blogger Week – Day 6: Ratih Dwi

Hi, welcome to day 6 of CasualBookReader’s Book Blogger Week.

Our next guest is someone new to me! I even once said to Ratih Dwi: I really should have met you earlier.

I saw Ratih’s blog before but didn’t really pay attention for it because of her blog appearance (I know it’s such a lame I know). But through areaderofliterature, I saw Ratih again and decided to contact her.  I was a bit surprised realizing she is a veteran ((((VETERAN))) BBI member and my current inner circles know her ^^v

ratih

Click the pic!

I count this interview as my initiation to know her more. This is a scheduled post and when this is published I (probably) have met her and talked with her more :)


Hello, can you please introduce yourself? 

Hi, my name is Ratih Dwi Astuti Kusumawardhani. For this horrendous name length of mine I usually call myself Ratih Dwi or erdeaka for short. I’m 28 and I’m a freelance fiction book translator (but currently unemployed for a very horrid reason). I live in Solo and mostly spend my time reading, watching football and late night Turkish TV series :p *facepalm*

Please tell me why you decided to start a book blog? What was your intention?

When I first started a book blog I actually didn’t have any intention to record my impression of the books I’ve read (just like most of book bloggers out there, I believe). It was years ago and I was still at the university and I just wanted to practice my English writing. But then I got more serious about book blogging so two years ago I started a brand new book blog to brush up my English writing and “the art” of reviewing.

What is your favourite book genre?

My favorite genre is definitely general fiction. I like it when people write/talk about life and their experiences so I can get lessons to learn.

How do you write your review?

Before I really write my review, I usually set the points I want to talk about: the introduction; the summary/synopsis; the characters in detail; my opinion on the writing style, the narrative, the atmosphere/tone, the language; and my conclusion. After that, I write the raw version of the review, type it on the computer, and last, I edit it to make it better.

Considering a bookworm you are, why you only put 25 books for Goodreads Reading Challenge?

I usually set only 20-25 books a year for my GR Reading Challenge because I’m a very, very slow reader. I read like a snail. Imagine, I could finish a book in a month! When I “have time” I can usually finish it in two weeks, at the very least.

LOTR or Harry Potter? 

Harry Potter, because I don’t read LOTR (yet), haha!

If you could write fantasy, what kind of story it would be?

Wew, I don’t know. I’m not a fantasy fan. But perhaps it would be about having two different worlds in this universe, where a woman and a man of respective world would fall in love with each other but cannot be together for the different principles they hold and stand for in those worlds. So lame, I know :p *laugh hard*

Another trivia, Benedict Cumberbatch or Tom Hiddleston? 

Benedict Cumberbatch. Both are smart men/actors, but I like the way Cumberbatch brings out his persona more.

Oke this sounds kepo, but how can you survive with no smartphone! I envy you so!

It’s not that I don’t have a smartphone, it’s just most of the time I don’t have the credits or an Internet data package, haha! *Tih… -___-*

Alright, now give me 3 recommended books special for me.

Well, I don’t know your cup of tea, but I’ll recommend you my favorite books: My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk, The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende, and Hotel Iris by Yoko Ogawa. I see that you’re quite fond of Japanese literature, so maybe you should try the last. Moreover, it’s the “literary version” of Fifty Shades of Grey, haha!

At last, tell me your wish, anything, related to book life in Indonesia?

I have this dream that one day our book industry can become as big as those in the US and UK. I want to see more and more people have higher interest in reading and appreciate literature so much more than they do now. The rate of interest in reading and the number of book sales always go hand in hand, and I want to see them go skyhigh one day :)


Please you can reach her through:

Email: erdeaka9@gmail.com

Twitter: @erdeaka

This is the end of day 6. Don’t worry I still have one more guest whom probably will surprise you. Keep updated!

8 thoughts on “Book Blogger Week – Day 6: Ratih Dwi

Leave a Reply

