Wrap-Up List: August 2015

Here is my August Wrap-Up:

Bicara Tentang Jennings (Speaking of Jennings) – Anthony Buckerbridge

On his one day out on a Sunday, Jennings and his best friend, Darbishire, found a paper advertisement. Fishing rod on sale. Curious Jennings followed the home address mentioned and there they met Mr. Pink, the seller. But Jennings had no money, what was in his pocket is a gold coin valued 1/2 Sovereign. Using it as a kind of down payment, Jennings successfully brought the rod back to the preparatory school, Linbury Court. But being himself is already a problem lol. He indeed finally managed to give money as the price of the rod, but still problems kept coming to him. The lost gold coin, no hook nor bait to fish, fishing permit problem (I even just knew about it), even being involved in a theft case!

This is my second Jennings. I just knew that this is #22 of Jennings series. Of 25 of total volumes, sadly only 8 volumes were translated and published in Indonesian in the 90s. The story is so much refreshing I chuckled many times (I needed to hold my laughter since I read it on the bus). I really wish kids and teens nowadays have a chance to read this book.

Rating: 3 of 5.

Wonder – R.J. Palacio

Read my review here.

Anak Perawan di Sarang Penyamun – STA

Read my review here

Madicken and Lisabet – Astrid Lindgren

This is a one year story of two cute sisters Madicken and Lisabet who live in Junibacken, Sweden. Madicken and Lisabet live with their mother, father, a pretty angelic maid, Alva, and their pets, and they also have neighbors and friends. The story defines a children story well with all the fun, naughtiness, innocence, wits, and Swedish-ish. Although I was a bit aware with the harsh words they use (LOL), the Indonesian translation is just perfect as  in Ibu Lis I trust.

Rating: 3 of 5.

Beelzebub Vol. 1-5 – Ryuhei Tamura

Tatsumi Oga, 15 years old badass. This first year high school student accidentally met a floating man on the river. The body of a floating man opened (literally) and carried a boy. A beel-boy. Oga then became a father of a The Devil King’s baby. Up to volume 5, Baby Beel came back to Oga after Oga defeated Kanzaki, a strong senior at school.

Rating: 3.5 of 5

The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde

FINALLY!!! I needed about 4 months to finish this one. The story is fascinating indeed, but I must admit that I failed in writing a review for this *darn*. The work is so much detailed I can’t make up any words to explain this.

Rating: 4 of 5

In summary I accomplished my TBR list. Yay!

giphy

Leave a Reply

