Scene on Three #1

It was almost nine o’clock before he reached the club, where he found Lord Henry sitting alone, in the morning-room, looking very much bored.

‘I am so sorry, Henry,’ he cried, ‘but really it is entirely your fault. That book you sent me so fascinated me that I forgot how the time was going.’

‘Yes: I thought you would like it,’ replied his host, rising from his chair.

‘I didn’t say I liked it, Harry. I said it fascinated me. There is a great difference.’

‘Ah, you have discovered that?’ murmured Lord Henry. And they passed into the dining-room.

Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray.

~~

‘I am very interested and fascinated how everyone loves each other, but no one really likes each other.’ 

Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

I was quite enthralled with the first quote. It kind of made me smile. Then not so long hours after reading that, I circumstantially saw the second quote on Goodreads.

It is perhaps feeling very much often obscures reality.

_

sceneonthreeSubmitted for Scene on Three, hosted by Bacaan Bzee. For the details on how to join it, please click the link.

4 thoughts on “Scene on Three #1

Leave a Reply

